Purge / Archive Audit Trail Logs

The Audit Trail Purge and Archive feature of Connected Business allows you to manage audit trail logs by deleting and/ or archiving data from the database. This feature gives you the ability to delete audit trail logs from the database and have the logs exported in your local file. Since audit trail logs are stored in your database, purging and / or archiving data allows you to save database storage while keeping important database logs.

You can also set a maximum storage limit of data and archive important data to Excel or XML. And when the system detects that the maximum storage limit is reached, you will be notified upon logging in to the application, and you have the option to purge and/or archive data right then and there.

This feature is only available in Connected Business v14 and higher.

 

 

Set Audit Trail System Preference

Before you can archive or purge audit trail logs, you need to set the maximum storage limit for audit trail logs and enable system notification when the maximum storage limit is reached. To do this,

  1. Go to System Manager module > Setup> System Preference. The System Preference form will be displayed.

  2. In the Audit Trail section, tick the checkbox right next to the Enable Audit Trail Archive Notification and indicate the storage limit (number and size type) for audit trail logs in the fields right next to Show Notification when Audit Trail logs reached.

    Click Image to Enlarge

    The notification will only appear if the user has access to System Preference and Audit Trail Purge Wizard form.

  3. Click Save and Close to apply changes.

If the maximum limit is reached, a notification will pop up upon logging in to Connected Business.  Click YES to load the Audit Trail Purge and Archive Wizard and purge or archive audit trail logs. Click NO if you want to continue logging in to the application. Note that audit trail logs will pile up as transactions are made within the application and these logs are stored in your database ,thus, occupying database space unless they are purged.

Back to Top

 

 

Purge and/or Archive Audit Trail Logs

To purged and/or archived audit trail logs,

  1. Load the Audit Trail Purge and Archive Wizard. You can go to System Manager module > Audit Trail > Manage Audit Trail. Alternately, you can click YES in the pop-up notification when the maximum storage limit is reached to load the wizard. Click Next to continue.

    Click Image to Enlarge

  2. In the Purge Criteria and Archive Information page, select how you want to save the purged files (Excel and/or XML), and set the location path. If you do not want to archive the purged files, select none.

    Click Image to Enlarge

  3. In the Purge Criteria section, set the filter criteria for the audit trail logs you want to purge and/or archived.  Click Next to continue.

    Click Image to Enlarge

  4. In the Audit Trail Log List page, the list of audit trail logs based from the purge criteria set will be displayed. By default, the audit trail logs are sorted by Date and Transaction Type. Select the data to be purged and/or archived by clicking Select All, Select None or manually select the audit trail logs.

    Click Image to Enlarge

    If you want to delete and/or archived a specific list of audit trail logs belonging to an audit trail group, simply right click on the group (e.g. Transaction Type: Invoice) and choose Select Children. This will automatically select all logs under the audit trail group selected.

    Click Image to Enlarge

    If you want to keep financials-related data, make sure that the checkbox for Retain Financials Related Only is ticked.  If this option is enabled, all financials-related data will not be purged or archived. If unchecked, all selected audit trail logs, including financials-related data will be deleted from the database and archived to your local file.

    Click Image to Enlarge

    If you want to view the audit trail log detail, you can click on the Log ID.

  5. Click Next and Finish to start purging and/or archiving the data. A progress monitor will be displayed indicating the percentage of data purged and exported. The time it takes to purge and export data depends on the amount of data selected.

    Click Image to Enlarge

  6. After purging, you will be prompted if you want to open the location where the exported files are saved.

    Click Image to Enlarge

    Click Image to Enlarge

    The exported files are named based on the following format:  Audit Trail+ Date + Time(hhmmss) + UserCode

    e.g. AuditTrail.07.16.2013.162229.admin

    If the file is exported in Excel, the logs will be saved according to the maximum limit of rows in MS Excel.  If the number of logs exceeds the limit of rows, another excel sheet will be created in the same workbook. The maximum sheets per workbook are 10 sheets.

    Click Image to Enlarge

    If the file is exported in XML, the logs will be divided by size up to 100 MB per file. If the audit trail logs is more than 100 MB, separate files will be created according to the size of the remaining logs.

    Click Image to Enlarge

Back to Top

 

  • Tuesday, 16 July 2013